Arrivée à Paris

After a horrible 13 1/2 hour flight and a quick 1/2 drive from CDG Airport, we arrived in our apartment on Rue de la Comète, Paris.  Our apartment is only 10 minute casual walk to Le Tour Eiffel and as we found out today, about 25-30 minutes to the Arc de Triomphe on the other side of the Seine (river).

The Map of our location is here:  Rue de la Comète, Paris 

Geoff, Andrew and I went for the walk to the Arc de Triomphe and climbed the 284 steep spiral staircase to the top.  Great view and worth the climb and the €9.50 each to get access.

As it was last time we went, the Parisians are very nice to us.  They will speak English at request (as long as you try and fail at French first I believe).  I think the key to getting on well with them is being a little humble.  My daily ritual will be as I did this morning and head to the local bakery for a baguette and a couple of croissants.  Very nice indeed!

I hope you enjoy my photo’s and will no doubt add some more tomorrow as we head up to the top of the Eiffel Tower. I don’t expect I will be heading to the top due to my self diagnosed Acrophobia (fear of heights).

Sun breaking through the rain clouds over Paris

Sun breaking through the rain clouds over Paris

One comment on “Arrivée à Paris

  1. Love the beret Steve. Jane, Geoff and Andrew, the dumbo ride looked fun! Is it cold enough for you there yet? Are you booked into Ice hotel in Iceland. Steve, can you pick up a silver charm for Lily – from Iceland, UK anywhere? Pay you back.

Leave a Reply

